Skip to content

Deck – Week 2

July 23, 2012

Another warm weekend in Pasadena, especially for working out in the hot sun.  The deck is finally starting to really take shape!  On Saturday I finished the stair stringers whose footings are the existing driveway slab.  The remaining stringers will have to wait for the patio before they can be built.

Alexandra left for a conference on the east coast Saturday night leaving me to try to get as much actual decking down as I could on Sunday.  The first step was to get the edge boards run out to where I would start my decking from.  It is a bit confusing but I had to start running my deck boards from the middle because I did not want to trim down a board in the middle of the deck where the stairs are…. I can’t really explain, it should make sense from the pictures below.

20120723-065916.jpg

 

 

I took a mid-day break but otherwise worked all day about half the decking done.  It doesn’t look like much, but getting boards to line up nicely along that diagonal run was very difficult and involved a lot of careful measuring and cutting.  So far I am very pleased with how things are going.  Hopefully another weekend will see the rest of the decking laid and maybe the bench built.  Of course that is what I said last weekend….

 

20120723-065948.jpg

One more thing!  I forgot to take pictures of it, but our chainlink fence between the house and garage is gone!  It looks so much nicer I wish we had just taken it down sooner!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

