Skip to content

Staining the Deck

October 15, 2012

 

 

After returning from China the deck still sat unfinished.  Alexandra and I both had colds we caught somewhere in our travels so work was slow.  Finally, last weekend I put the last pieces up between sniffling and groaning about how sick I was.  So, this past weekend it was time to stain the deck.  First I scrubbed the deck with a cleaning agent to get it nice and pristine.

After the cleaning it was Alexandra’s turn.  She stained the whole deck while I tinkered on other small projects.

And by the end of the weekend the deck was dry and ready for use!  All in all I’m very happy with how the deck turned out.  Some of the joinery work isn’t perfect, but considering I don’t do this for a living I think it went pretty well.  Now we just need to have a party to break it in.

Over the next couple weeks we will be trying to clean up random items on our to-do list.  The front pillars, maybe gate for the driveway… As always, stay tuned for more!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

